The Procrastinatress

One of the things about living on your own is that you can easily put off chores you’re not terribly interested in. And over time, it’s become one of my superpowers. I don’t just delay doing things, I am able to find completely consuming projects that keeps me from doing it.

Today is Australia day. According to everyone (and the ads on TV) one is supposed to eat Lamb and lamingtons, have a barbecue and go to the beach – not sure in which order…

However, having just emerged from Christmas chaos and about to hurtle into the frenzy of Chinese New Year, I decided to  sit out the festivities and just enjoy the day off work.

Actually I thought this might be a good day to clear out my pantry.

When I say “pantry”, i really mean the bathroom shelves. My kitchen is tiny with barely any storage but my apartment designers have given me fairly spacious 2nd bathroom.

Another good thing about living alone – nobody cares that you are storing your groceries in the bathroom.

Anyway, last weekend when I was giving the dog a bath (it is technically his bathroom), i noticed I had a growing collection of packets and bottles and jars which was getting a little out of control. I resolved then to do a clear out.

To be fair, I did start the process. Armed with containers and bin bags with a mission to “consolidate or throw out”.

IMG_0669

Then I found the figs, pine nuts, walnuts, apricots and dried pears next to the bag of oats and I thought – hmm… sounds like a great Granola mix. Ding!

I’ve never made Granola before. Which meant I then spent the next half hour looking up recipes

There are gazillions! Of varying complexities.

Here are a few that caught my eye:

But in the end, feeling lazy and not terribly interested in complicated recipes so it sort of ended up as follows:

  • 2 cups of Oats
  • 1 cup of other dry ingredients (i used chopped walnuts, pine-nuts, pumpkin seeds and the last bit of of a pack of puffed rice)
  • 1/4 cup of oil
  • 1/2 cup of maple syrup
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

After I mixed everything together, I remembered I had an old jar of honey where it had all crystalised so I dropped in the lumps of honey and then spread everything on a backing tray and baked it at 140C.

I tried to go back to tidying but after about 15 minutes there was this rich, nutty, caramelly aroma yelling “come get me” so I took it out to cool.

I chopped up the dried fruit – apricot, figs, cranberries and pear. And when the oat mixture was cooled, mixed everything together.

Which then sparked a new quest to find a suitable container for the granola – a couple glass jars dug up from the back of the pantry/bathroom cupboard.

IMG_0677

And finally, when you have freshly made Granola you just have to eat it right? And I can’t believe I’ve never tried making this before! It’s so fresh and crunchy with so much flavour. And those honey lumps became chewy clusters, some enveloping pieces of fruit – delivering surprise and texture.

Needless to say, I was rather pleased with myself.

IMG_0679

So… the bathroom/pantry shelf is still a mess, I’ve pretty much ruined my appetite for dinner which means either I will be cooking a midnight supper or wake up starving in the morning.

But then I live on my own, so I can!

 

Leave a Reply

