Sunday Night Bake – A really good Choc Chip Cookie

I don’t make chocolate chip cookies.

I don’t mean that I’ve never made them, I have, and they’ve just not been – well – chocolate chip cookie enough.

It’s such a classic. Everyone has their own favourite recipe – chewy or crispy? dark, milk or white? Does it need embellishments – with nuts? Caramel?

To be honest, I’ve probably not been sure how I like my chocolate chip cookies, so I just don’t make them.

Until this weekend.

It had been one of those crazy weeks. Had 3 meetings in 3 different cities over 2 days and returned straight into a 2 day weekend conference. Ugh. I had pretty much decided to skip the Sunday night bake this week.

However on the plane back from Brisbane I was watching Donna Hay’s Basic to Brilliance  tv series and one of the things she made was chocolate chip cookies. It looked simple and so comforting, like something from a fond childhood memory. I couldn’t get it out of my head.

So here we are, Sunday evening, and chocolate chip cookies it is.

I didn’t follow the recipe precisely as I didn’t have enough ingredients, but the results turned out so well that I think I’ll stick to these proportions.

Ingredients – Adapted from Donna Hay’s Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies
200g butter
300g chocolate chips
300g plain flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp vanilla extract
2tbsp milk
120g brown sugar
130g white sugar
1 egg

Bake at 180 deg C for 12 minutes

I used a cookie scoop and they all came out nice and even. The next day I was even asked if they were store-bought as they were so uniform!

As promised by Donna Hay, they are crisp on the outside and chewy on the inside.

I now know what kind of Chocolate Chip Cookies I like – these ones! 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Sunday Night Bake – A really good Choc Chip Cookie

Leave a Reply

